RSS Feed

Fireplace Backsplash Updated

Posted on

Remember when I did the fireplace backsplash?  I updated it a bit.

I have a lot of wood wall planks left over from when I went crazy and bought all I could find because it was on clearance for $3.50.  I bought two different styles.  The planks I used in my son’s bathroom were plain tongue and groove, but I also purchased a couple of packages of the wide beadboard looking planks.

I add the beadboard planks to the fireplace backsplash.  (Nothing stays the same in my house for very long.  It’s a sickness.)

This DIY project was quick and simple! A little extra character for very little money.

This is a picture of the fireplace before and after the first time I did it.

fireplace before

Here’s the now “Before”.

fireplace beadboard taped

I cut the planks to size, then added the first piece to the middle of the fireplace. That way the planks would end at the same place on both sides.  The boards were trimmed length-wise with a circular saw.  I used a nail gun to attach the wood planks to the wall. I just love that thing!

closeup fireplace beadboard

A close up after it was caulked and painted.

fireplace with beadboard 2

The after After! Not a huge difference, but  it looks more finished now. It took one package of wood planks, so it cost only $3.50!  Gotta love that!

10 responses »

  1. FINE – FINE – FINE work!

    Reply
  2. Wow it amazes me how you do the simplest thing and yet it changes how it looks dramatically. Astounding

    Reply
  3. It’s amazing how you can do something so simple and afterwards think, “How could I have thought I was done before I just did this thing I did?” By-the-way, your thoughts become more jumbled the happier you are at what you’ve accomplished… common knowledge.

    or an excuse for less than stellar cohesive thoughts…

    …but mostly the first thing. LoL 😉

    Reply
  4. Oh! Nice update. The board really adds a some character.

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

