RSS Feed

DIY Tiled Planter Box

Posted on

finished closeupWhat do you do with left over wood?  You make a planter box.  Then you let the planter box sit on your porch for a couple of months, completely out of mind.  Next you go to Habitat Restore and discover sheets of stone tile for only $2.50 and buy it just because it’s only $2.50.  After that, it dawns on you to add the tile to the planter box you just remembered you forgot, and then get excited to have a new project to work on.

This is how I operate.  Not always cohesive.  Not always with a plan.  Somehow it works out. 😉

This planter/flower box cost less than $10.00.  I had the wood already.  I only bought the tile and the stencil.  Cheap Cheap Cheap.

And just a note:  My hope in sharing projects and ideas with you is to inspire you to try something new.  I’m not an expert at this crafting/DIY stuff.  I’m just a girl whose mind is always turning and thinking, and for whatever reason, thinks she can do what she sets her mind to.  I believe you can too.  😀

wood planks2

Left over wood I had. I can’t remember how I decided on the size, but it must have been based on how much wood I had. I can’t be responsible for what I forget. LOL

box together2

The finished box. Very easy. No mitering.

box plain

Apparently I painted it white. Wish I could remember what the original plan was! 😉

box of tile

I bought the whole box of tile. It came four sheets to a box. The piece you see in the picture is actually folded in half.  A sheet and a half was enough to cover the whole box.

beginning tiling

I cut off rows of tile. The tile came pretty much butted against each other so I didn’t have to pull off one piece at a time to get them close. That made me happy because I didn’t want to mess with grout.

tiling2

Moving a long. Occasionally I had to pull off some individual pieces and trade it with a smaller or larger piece to make the row end neatly at the sides.

box tiled

I used silicon adhesive to adhere the tile to the wood. I would suggest something stronger though. The tile is not falling off, but I could pull it off if I wanted to. I just used what I had.

stencil

I picked up this template at Hobby Lobby.

finished closeup2

I used black acrylic craft paint to “stencil” with. Since I haven’t stenciled much before, I didn’t have the proper brush. I just gave an old, small paint brush a trim and made the bristles shorter. I worked pretty well for “pouncing”.

finished closeup

I need to get more flowers (hydrangea?). I picked these up at Michaels, but my mind couldn’t remember how big the box was. But you get the picture.
Also, I added trim to the top of the box and painted it white, to give it a finished look. I didn’t take a picture of that though. I used the trim left over from my latest Bathroom Makeover.

Linking up to:
Savvy Southern Style – Wow Us Wednesday
House on the Way – Twirl and Take a Bow
Made in a Day – Made U Look
Someday Crafts – Whatever Goes Wednesday
Coastal Charm – Nifty Thrifty Tuesday
DIY by Design – Winter Blues Wednesday
Finding Fabulous – Frugalicious Friday

12 responses »

  1. Beautiful!!! I’ve always wanted to try tiling . . . and we have a ReStore here, too . . . thank you for the inspiration! 🙂

    Reply
  2. This turned out great! I love that you added the tile and then stenciled on top of that so cool!!

    xo, Tanya

    Reply
  3. You did one beautiful job on this DIY project. Hop over and share it at my party.

    Blessings,
    Linda

    Reply
  4. Love the planter’s box. Very nice.

    Reply
  5. Very cute idea! Thanks you for lining up!
    Kim

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

