RSS Feed

Girl verses ATM Machine

Posted on

My Hubby asked me to deposit a check.  He said it’s easier now.  No deposit slip.  No teller.  Just go to the ATM machine.  The check gets scanned and you’re done.  Got it!  Sound like something I can handle.

I apparently over-estimated my banking abilities.  I pulled up and rolled down my window.  I saw where the check needed to go.  The directions said to “deposit check here”.  So I hung myself out the car window, to reach the deposit slot.  But the check would not go in.  I tried again and again, forward, backwards and upside down, the ATM would not take my check.

Thinking Mom just wasn’t doing it right, my daughter unbuckled herself and climbed over to the front seat.  She was going to try.  Now she’s kneeling on my lap, wedged between my chest and the stearing wheel, hanging out the window herself.  She tried and tried, but the ATM stood its ground.  It would not take my check.

Hubby said it was easy!  What was I doing wrong?  And at this point I realized that I was most like being taped by a security camera.  I don’t even want to think about what we looked liked.  I can only imagine the roaring laughter that would occur if anyone watched that tape.  Mom and daughter, half way out the window, shoving a check at an uncooperative machine.

I almost gave up and drove away.  Then a thought occurred to me.  What if I insert my debit card in to the ATM machine?  When I want the machine to give me money, I use my ATM card.  Maybe that would work!

And what do ya know… The deposit slot opened up and took my check.  And I swear, as the ATM was finally scanning my check for deposit, I heard  snickering coming out of the deposit slot!  I think I even saw the sides of the slot turn up in a slight smile.

I’m only telling you this embarrassing story in hopes that it will prevent any one else from listening to her Hubby about how to work an ATM machine.  He missed telling me a several crucial steps.  Like.. Take out your ATM card.  Put the ATM card in to the machine.  Punch in your security code.  Choose “DEPOSIT” then insert your check.  Those are important!  Like really important.  Otherwise you will just be hanging out your window trying to jam a check into a CLOSED deposit slot!  With people watching.  And laughing.

7 responses »

  1. My wife asked me to her a favor once and run a check over to the bank and deposit it. She gave me detailed instructions, including inserting the card and the code and selecting deposit. I inserted the check, got the receipt and drove away thinking I had succeeded in mastering another technological marvel. Until the wife reviewed the receipt and the machine hadn’t read the check amount correctly… Apparantly I was supposed to verify that information before driving away. Oops. So, as much as I want to, I won’t be laughing at your humorous story. 😉

    Reply
  2. Q – Smiles on my face for the day! LMAO!

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

