RSS Feed

DIY Cake Stand

Posted on

Have you seen the DIY cake/dessert stands made from a candle holder and a plate?  They are so easy!  Get yourself a candle holder, a plate and adhesive (I used E6000) and you’re good to go.

I’ve been wanting to make one of these since last Christmas when I was thinking about handmade gifts.  I never did make any last year, but I just found a rogue candle holder I picked up from Target quite some time ago and while I was at HomeGoods this week, I picked up an inexpensive plate.  I probably spent less than $9.00 total.  Not too shabby!

I chose a neutral colored plate so I can use the stand anywhere in the house I want, but HomeGoods has oodles of beautiful colored plates starting at just $2.99.  Holiday plates are out now, so you could make a cute Thanksgiving and Christmas plate stand.  They’d make great hostess, Bunco, office party or teacher gift.  Especially if you filled the plate with homemade cookies! 😉

Glass, metal, plastic or wood candle holders can be used as the plate stand.  Cake stands, once glued together can be spray painted a solid color for a cohesive look.  This could be addictive.  Friends and family… you may be looking at your next Christmas gift! 😀

Candle holder for Target

Plate from HomeGoods $3.99

The multi-purpose cake stand… Soap dish, Holiday decorations, Dessert stand, Keeper of keys, phone, glasses, etc.

Linked To:

6 responses »

  1. thanks for including the high note!!

    Reply
  2. Now, this I can do!!! 🙂

    Reply
  3. I love this idea I may have to make me one of these soon.

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

