RSS Feed

Entryway Ideas

Posted on

Because I’m me, I am always changing something in my house.  (It’s a sickness, I think.)  My current obsession is doing something with my front door entryway.  It has had two different benches, two different tables and now it’s currently empty.  Why you ask?  Because the first bench I bought quickly lost my interest.  The second bench I made, but I have since put it outside on my front porch.  The first table I had, I traded it for a friend’s table, which I then refinished.  It looked lovely in the entryway, but it was still not quite the look I wanted.   Now that table is living in the nook of the den’s window.  It’s happy there, I think.

I can hardly keep up with myself, so I apologize if your head is spinning.  My Hubby can’t keep up with me either.  His only hope is that the couch is still where he left it in the morning so he knows where to sit down when he comes home in the evening.  So far, he hasn’t landed on the floor. 😉

Anyhoo, now the entryway is completely devoid of anything except two screws in the wall.  Not very inviting.   Check it out…

My Sad, Sad Entryway!

I did what any obsessed girl would do… I scoured Pinterest and the internet for some ideas and inspirations.  Check out what I have found.  See anything that may look fabulous in your house??

After seeing the picture of my desolate entryway and viewing the pictures below, feel free to offer your suggestions!  Please?  Pretty Please?  😀

Beautiful tile work at the door elevates the space. (marthastewart.com)

I like this one because it’s simple. I have oodles of “builders” bathroom mirror I took down and stored away. Awful looking things they are! But I could get some chunky wood, beat the heck out of it, stain it and make a custom framed mirror that looks similar to this one. 🙂

This one is lovely. Makes me want to stain my railings! I like the wainscoting/board and batting on the wall.

I never thought to hang curtains on the front door! I like it. Maybe just some simple white ones. It makes the entryway look cozy.

Pinned Image

Board and Batting. I love it! I have a two-story entryway though. Not sure how high I should go with it.

Pinned Image

More curtains! It just looks sweet! And those dark railings again. Is it a sign? My next project I wonder? 😉  I adore the horizontal wood planked walls too.

Now this I love!! Look at the cool wood on the wall! Not quite the style of my house, but I might have to find a wall somewhere and do this. LOVE!

narrow hallway mirror

Fancier than my house, but again, just a simple mirror may just do the trick.

Pinned Image

This looks inviting with the long narrow table and the collage of framed pictures on the wall. Beautiful.

Well, that’s it folks.  Opinions are welcome!  What is your favorite?

16 responses »

  1. All of the entry’s you have gathered up are so pretty, but I especially love huge pieces in an unexpected place like a huge mirror or painting in a small space. Makes it grand, and the curtains on each side of the door? FABULOUS!

    Hugs, Tanya

    Reply
  2. Wow! I love them all! I read an article recently that showed lots of entryway options that all include a mirror (to check appearance on the way in or out), a narrow table (for seasonal decor), and a pretty dish or tray (for keys and such). I like that plan, too! Can’t wait to see what you design! 🙂 P.S. We also have a pretty coat/umbrella rack where guests can deposit their things, and it gets a LOT of use!

    Reply
  3. OK. On this entryway blog, I think you should definitely put up curtains on both sides of the door. My fav are the burlap ones that let the light peak thru.
    Also, the long lovely dark table with the various frames, lighting & candles on the wall.
    GET IT DONE!!

    Reply
  4. Can’t wait to see what you decide on!

    Reply
  5. Great post (as always!) – I really like the idea of curtains at the entryway. I never thought to do that and it looks gorgeous! 🙂

    Reply
  6. I love the curtains! I’m inspired… my list just happens to be long at the moment of projects I need to finish. I have a weird entry though as the bathroom is right off the side of the door kind of behind you. I wonder if the curtains thing would work…? Hmmm…. now you ahve the thinking.

    I love the cool wood too though- not the style of my house either, might need to figure out how anyway too….

    Reply
  7. I love the drapery panels also. A mirror is always a good thing so you don’t go out of the house looking weird. A tables great to so you have a place for keys. Entry ways are always hard. I look forward to what you come up with. Please share!

    Reply
  8. The second curtain picture!!

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

