RSS Feed

Aging Gracefully…NOT!

Posted on

It’s been one of those weeks.  You know, the kind when you aren’t feeling particularly upbeat, or attractive or young.  The kind when your brain has taken a vacation and forgot to let you know.

Bibles,books,eyeglasses,eyewear,glasses,hands,holy books,Old Testament,persons,Photographs,readers,readings,religions,religious books,scriptures,text,womenThis week I had an eye doctor appointment.  The doctor’s assistant was chit chatty, as I’m sure she is with all the patients.  But the first thing she said to me was that she noticed my birth year on my chart was the same as her mother’s.  This assistant is 27 years old.  WHAT?!!  REALLY?  Was this pertinent information I needed to know?  I am NOT old enough to have a 27-year-old child!  Good grief!  I wonder what I look like in her eyes.  In my head, I don’t look much older than this chick.  But then again, DENIAL has always been my favorite place to be.  It’s a happy place.  You’re welcome to join me as long as you don’t tell me I’m old enough to be your mother.

I find out my reading eye sight is getting worse.  The doctor said that’s perfectly normal when you get to be my age.  Could you please excuse me while I bang my head against the wall?

And today, I’m having a conversation with my daughter in the car.  After I said what I had to say, my daughter replied, “could you repeat that mom?”  NO I CAN NOT REPEAT THAT!  I don’t remember what I just said.  I told her she needed to pay close attention to me when I say something because I can not be held responsible for what I forget.

So here I am, 40 something, in glasses, in braces, and because Mother Nature thinks she’s being cute, I’m getting zits I never had as a teenager.  Just swell. 😉

11 responses »

  1. The sad thing for me, your twin, I get excited when people find out that I have 5 grandkids and they say “OMG! you don’t look old enough to be a grandma!” They then become my new best friend-whether they like it or not!

    Reply
  2. LOL, I know what you are talking about

    Reply
  3. The trick is to lie about your age. Always tell everyone you’re ten years older than you actually are. They’ll go on and on about how young you look! It works everytime. When I was twenty five I used to tell everyone I was thirty five. They all wanted to know what was my secret to looking so young. The secret was that I’m a filthy liar. 🙂

    Reply
    • Funny you say that… When I was at the orthodontist, I noticed on their computer they had my date of birth 10 years older than it should be. When I pointed it out to the dentist assistant, she said “OMG I was just thinking how great you look for your age”. I kept waiting for her to tell me I still look great for my real age, but that conversation was over!

      Reply
  4. Laurie, you are fantastic at any age!

    Reply
  5. Your ‘unique’ blog made me smile. Must follow 🙂 Laurie u ROCK !! so do i ;-))
    let’s get to know each other ! what say ??

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

