RSS Feed

DIY Clock Table

Posted on

DIY TableRemember the DIY Pedestal Table I started a while back?  I finished it… finally!

It took me awhile to figure out what to do with the top of it.  I had lots of ideas in my head, but I saw a clock table somewhere and thought it was pretty cool.

DIY Table

From my computer, I printed the numbers, then cut them out. I traced 12 o’clock, 6, 3, and 9 first.  It’s easier to place the other numbers after that.

DIY Clock Table

After the first few numbers were cut out, ex: XII, IX, VIII, etc., I realized I only needed 3 numbers – X, I, V to do the whole clock!

DIY Table

Once all the tracing was complete, I used dark brown paint to color the numbers, then distressed the numbers with sandpaper for a worn, aged look.

The finished table. I wanted to paint a checkered board pattern in the middle to actually play checkers on, but gave up when the squares looked like a toddler painted it.  I was going for the slightly less than perfect distressed look.  Not happening.  It got sanded down then repainted.  Some ideas just don’t work out.

DIY Table

Linked to

House on the Way

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: SaturDIY | The Hearty Herbivore

  2. This is awesome! It’s so unique.
    I wanted to say Thank you for commenting on my mirror makeover last week and invite you to join my new linky party, Twirl & Take a Bow. It’s every Tuesday.
    I’d love for you to stop by! This post would be perfect!
    Leslie

    Reply
  3. Glad you joined House on the Way’s linky party. This is such a neat idea. You did a great job Laurie!

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

