RSS Feed

DIY Bookaholic

Posted on

Whenever I find a new interest, I will buy books on the subject.  I love the idea of flipping through the pages, being inspired by pictures, reading tutorials and getting ideas.  I have books on crocheting, sewing, window treatments, decorating, temari, paper crafts, jewelry making… the list goes on!  I’m a DIY bookaholic! (And I have crafting A.D.D!)

Today, I went to Barnes and Noble to look for books on refinishing furniture.  I looked and looked and didn’t find a thing.  I walked over to the help desk and ask the man behind the counter where I could find books on the subject  He looked at me like I had two heads.  He said, and I quote, “refinishing furniture is a craft that is not very popular anymore.  If we have anything on the subject, it may be in the magazine section.”

WHAT!?!  No books!?  Not popular?  This man is obviously NOT in touch with his DIY and/or blogging side!  I stood there, with my mouth hanging open, trying to grasp what he was telling me.  Did he really say what I think he said??  I’m so sad!  For him because he doesn’t have a clue, and for me because I don’t have a book!

I know there is a lot of information out there on the world-wide web, and I’m sure I can find a book on-line.  But it’s not the same.  I wanted to flip pages. I wanted beautiful pictures and pages I can bookmark.  I wanted to read about techniques and different paint and stain finishes.  I wanted to be able to put the book down and pick it up later where I left off.

Since I can’t stand in a bookstore and flip through the pages, if anyone knows of a great DIY refinishing, updating furniture book, I’m all ears!  I would greatly appreciate your recommendations. 😀

7 responses »

  1. Hi, my name is Amy and I’m a fellow bookaholic….

    Reply
  2. Well, the Illustrated Guide to Furniture Repair & Refinishing will be published in October. Can you wait that long? 🙂

    Reply
  3. I feel the same way about books! I have thousands and I do NOT read a Kindle! I want to linger over good pictures!

    Reply
  4. With all the recycled art books I’ve come across, you’d think that refinishing furniture would be pretty popular right about now! I love getting craft books on various topics too… when I’m in a rut or low on inspiration, I pick a book from my collection on something I haven’t done recently, and it helps me get back in the groove.

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

