RSS Feed

Storage Cabinet Makeover

Posted on

Don’t ya just love free?  I do!  A friend of mine had this cabinet sitting in her garage to be thrown away.  Of course I had to have it when she said, “Go ahead and take it”.  Who am I to say to no to a freebie or to a friend? 😀

I put this storage cabinet in my sewing/craft room and left it as-is.  Functional, but not very pretty and definitely not my style.  Shockingly, it’s been this way for a year now!  I know!  I said it was shocking!

Paint is an excellent way to change the look and style of furniture.  As soon as you are brave enough to put that first swipe of paint on, you are on your way.  Fear not my friends.  The ugly can become beautiful, the rejected can be loved again, and the out of date can be updated.  Okay, I’m done now.  You get my point… you can DIY!! 🙂

Storage Cabinet Makeover

Knotty pine is ok if you’re a little bit country, but I’m a little bit Rock ‘n’ Roll!

Storage Cabinet Makeover

I primed a small section of the cabinet before I sanded it to see if the primer would adhere. Sadly, my fingernail scratch test took the primer right off. Boo! No skipping steps! So I lightly sanded the entire piece and applied two coats of primer.

Storage Cabinet Makeover

After the primer dried, I applied two coats of satin white latex paint. Did I mention I already had the primer and white paint? I did! No money went out for this makeover. And I even had the knobs! I love free!!

Now that is definitely better! Why I waited so long to update this cabinet is beyond me. It was so easy to do! Now I want to repaint the room in this beautiful gray I saw on Pinterest. Shhh! Don’t tell my Hubby. I might have to paint the room when he goes out of town! 😉

Linked to: Domestically Speaking

10 responses »

  1. What a great cabinet! And it DOES look beautiful now! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I, personally, like it better in white. Brad, however, rolled his eye! But, really?? Do we care what he thinks?? ha ha ha

    Reply
  3. Carol Patterson

    Love, love the redo of the cabinet. What a difference!! See what happens when I miss going on your blog for a day or two? Magic happens.

    Love,
    Mom

    Reply
    • You never know what I’m up to if you don’t check the blog. 🙂 I could just tell you what I’m working on, being my mom and all, but what fun would that be?? Ha!

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Free Cabinet and Cute Table

  5. Hollie @ I'm Busy Procrastinating

    The white is sooo much better! I’m a “rock-n-roll” girl too, so that knotty pine look would drive me nuts!

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

