RSS Feed

Birthday Party Craft Idea

Posted on

This weekend we had a birthday party for my daughter.  She is now in the double digits!  How did that happen?

I remember when I turned 10.  I spent the entire day crying because I was TEN!  Ten was sooo old in my head.  And if I was THAT old, them my parent’s days had to be numbered!  I was so sad!  I mean seriously!  Thirty two and 34?!!  How much longer could they possibly have?  (Yes I was a strange sensitive child.)  Thank goodness I outgrew that… right Mom?:)

Happily they are both still here!  And while I am more than 10 years older than my parents were when I turned 10, my daughter doesn’t seem bothered by her age or mine.  Although, if you ask her how old I am, she will support me in my denial and tell you I’m 34. 😉

Back to the birthday…  My daughter wanted to do a craft project at her party.  She decided on decorating flip-flops.  I picked up various sizes of flip-flops from Micheals.  They were only $1.24 a pair!  I grabbed some ribbon, glitter glue, fabric paint and some “bling” for decorating.   A very inexpensive project!

The kids wrapped the ribbon around the straps of the flip-flop.  Glue from a glue gun does not stick to the rubber strap,  so wrapping it with ribbon not only looks cute, but it also gives the bling something to adhere too.  It takes about a yard of ribbon to wrap each flip-flop, depending on the width of the ribbon.

I don’t know if all 10 year olds are like this, but my daughter and her friends were so involved in the project that we literally had nearly an hour of silence while they were decorating their flip-flops.  Silence at a birthday party!  Wow!  Check out the flip-flops.  They turned out adorable!

2 responses »

I love comments! It makes my day.

