RSS Feed

Love thy Neighbor

Posted on

This post is completely off the subject of DIY.  But it’s a subject I feel very  passionate about.

Today my Mom asked if I heard the story of a pastor in North Carolina (my home state!) who spoke out against homosexuality.  She said it has been all over the local and national news.  I must have had my head in the sand, (actually I have been taking care of my sick family), to not have heard this.

A Baptist Pastor was speaking out about how to get rid of the gay population…  

“I figured a way out – a way to get rid of all the lesbians and queers – but I couldn’t get it past the Congress,” he said. “Build a great big, large fence–50 or 100 miles long–put all the lesbians in there. Fly over and drop some food. Do the same thing with the queers and the homosexuals and have that fence electrified so they can’t get out. Feed them. And you know in a few years, they’ll die out. You know why? They can’t reproduce.”

Oh my God! (literally)

I haven’t stopped thinking about this all day.  For as long as I can remember, before I even knew what homosexuality was, I understood that God loves all of us and we are not to judge each other.  No one taught me that, it’s just there.  I can’t really explain why this particular subject sparks such emotion in me either.  But it does.  Maybe it’s because I believe people are born homosexual.  It would be the same as someone being born with blue eyes, or with a missing limb or as a mathematical genius.  It’s just the way God made them.  God doesn’t make mistakes, right?  We do.  And our mistake is judging other people.  We have a lot of jobs in this world, but that is not one of them.

Even if homosexuality was a sin, a sin is a sin and we all sin.  If you believe that Jesus is the Son of God and he died for our sins, then you are saved.  Regardless of your sin. 

Love is the most important lesson in the bible.  The bible doesn’t say love thy neighbor as long as they aren’t gay.  Just love they neighbor as yourself.

I’m not writing this for a debate.  We are free to believe whatever.  This was such a shock to my heart today that I felt the need to write about it.

John 13:3

34 A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another

1 Corinthians 13 (The Greatest Gift)

13 If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3 If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned,[a] but have not love, I gain nothing.

Mark 12:28-31   (NIV)

The Greatest Commandment

28 One of the teachers of the law came and heard them debating. Noticing that Jesus had given them a good answer, he asked him, “Of all the commandments, which is the most important?”

29 “The most important one,” answered Jesus, “is this: ‘Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one.[a] 30 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’[b] 31 The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[c]There is no commandment greater than these.”

One response »

  1. Absolutely amazing! I can’t believe the hatred in that Pastors comments!!

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

