RSS Feed

Console Table Redo

Posted on

Another project is finished!  My “ninety percent-itis” is clearing up!

My friend Crys and I traded entry/console tables.  What a cheap way to get new furniture!  She wanted my entry table and offered me her console table she needed to get rid of.  (She needed to get rid of it because she bought this absolutely gorgeous unique piece of furniture at the last antique show we went to.  She always finds the good stuff!  No, I’m not bitter… ha!)  So we switched tables.  She got my black, slightly broken Target console table I picked up years ago at Goodwill for $40.00 and I got her beautiful, full of potential, long console table bought at a real furniture store.  I think I won in this switch, but I’m not telling!

The table she gave me looks similar to a Ballard Design table I have been eyeing for a while.  I love free!

Benedetta 58 inch Console

Sells for $399.99 at Ballard Designs

The wood color on my new piece was not  pretty, kind of redish brown, and it came with a marble green top.  Green marble was popular back in the day when I got married, but that was eons ago and not my current style.  I tackled to table base first, not knowing for sure what I was going to do with the green marble top yet.

Table Before

This is the back side of the green marble. It’s unpolished and full of small holes.

The first thing I did was dust and wipe down the table.  Then I lightly sanded it, wiped it down again, and primed it.  After two coats of primer, I painted it a bright aqua. It looks good on the walls in my Sunroom, but not on this table!

Round two!  I painted over the aqua with a light gray-blue.  Much better!

Second color close up

The edges were distressed with a medium grade sand paper. Because it was primed and painted a couple of times, the distressing showed the wood, white primer, and aqua depending on how hard I sanded.

I took a darker gray-blue and added some “highlights” to the table.  Using a foam brush I blended the color in.

The last step was wax. I started out using a dry paint brush to apply the wax, but switched to a cotton cloth. It was quicker and more consistent.

Not sure if this would even work, I sanded the edges of the table top because the marble was polished there, and then primed the sides and the back side of marble.  I applied 3 coats of primer.

I just went for it. I painted the back and sides of the marble top a dark brown. It took a few coats, but it covered well and the paint did adhere to the sanded marble sides. Woohoo!

Close up of the painted marble top and distressed edges.

Time to accessorize.

It’s finished. Still playing with the accessories, but I’m happy with the table. And no, Crys, you can’t have it back! 😉

Linking to Thumbnail image for Thrifty Treasures is Coming Back!link up logo

22 responses »

  1. You’re fearless! I love it!

    Reply
  2. simply amazing! I really love your work! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Wow! Turned out beautiful!!

    Reply
  4. Carol Patterson

    You continue to amaze me. It is so beautiful!!! Love the accessories and also love the lamp. Perfect.

    Reply
  5. Totally transformed! I LOVE it! Way to go my BFF!! 😉 Time to open up your shop! 😉

    Reply
  6. that is amazing! I have a coffee table that I’ve been toying with repainting… I think I may have some inspiration now!

    Reply
  7. I never would have thought to paint the marble- what a great idea! It turned out beautiful. Well done, you 🙂

    Reply
  8. Love your selected blue and the curvy legs!

    Reply
  9. This is one fabulous table. I love the color and that you left the top stained wood. Love it!

    Reply
  10. It turned out beautiful. Much prettier than the Ballard table. I love the curve of the legs and the blue with the brown.

    Reply
  11. I love this console…..love the blue…great job on the transformation!

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

