RSS Feed

Dining Room turned Library/Office

Posted on

Happy Monday! 

I’m almost finished redoing  my “dining room that’s not a dining room”.  Let’s call it my new Library/Office.  Over the weekend I finished the drapes and got them hung. 

I have to give a shout out to my favorite local fabric store, Tony’s Fabrics, for coming through and finding more fabric for me.   Panic set in when I finally decided on the fabric for my drapes and they didn’t have enough to make two.  That old saying “you snooze you lose” applied to me big time!  I don’t know if it was the tears in my eyes, the pouty lip or the kindness of their hearts, but they found more fabric and special ordered it for me.  I LOVE THAT STORE!  And the staff is generously helpful, offering tips and advice.  Always a great thing when you don’t know the quantity you need to buy, or even the type of fabric you need to use for a particular project.

The bookcases came from Ikea.  I love them!  The difference they alone make in the room is huge.  They are from Ikea HEMNES series.  The chairs came from HomeGoods (of course!).  I only bought two, but I’m thinking of picking up two more, or maybe coordinating chairs.  I’m not a matchy matchy kind of girl.  The paint color is a rich brown called Sierra Spruce from Benjamin Moore.

The room is almost complete.  I’m looking for a round table to add to the room.  I’m thinking of making one actually.  But I’m having a really hard time finding an unfinished wood round table top.  No luck at Lowes or Home Depot.  ; (  Any suggestions??

Still need some artwork on the walls.  I will post more pictures when the room is complete.

Parsons chairs from HomeGoods. $99.00 each.

Bookcases from Ikea. Color Grey/Brown

Drapes are finally made! Woohoo!!

8 responses »

  1. Carol Patterson

    Hi,

    The room looks awesome!!!! Love all the accessories on the bookshelves. Also, love the curtains and the chairs in front of the window. What a huge difference it all makes. Perfection. See, you didn’t need silly old Nate. I knew you could do it.

    Love, Mom

    Reply
  2. Do you hire out? You are amazing in my book. I love the color combo in this room. You might look for a store that has just unfinished furniture (Wood You). There has to be something. Or think about a maple table that you redo.

    Reply
  3. LOVE it! Looks awesome!

    Reply
  4. love it! we’re in the process of converting our dining room into an office space too! And bookshelves are next on our agenda!

    Reply
  5. Where did you get the material for those curtains?

    Reply
    • I bought the fabric at a local fabric store. Actually I bought ALL that they had. The name of the fabric is Favell Lagoon, Richloom Slubby Basket Prints. Let me know if have any more questions!

      Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

