RSS Feed

Handmade Christmas Gift #2 – Crochet Pillow

Posted on

I have been crocheting for years, mostly making afghan and scarfs.  But now I’m completely addicted to making crochet flowers!  If you are new to crochet, it is an easy thing to learn.  There are many books and websites are out there with very simple instruction on how to do the basic stitches.  Once you learn a few stitches, you can make just about anything.  And you’ll get hooked! (yes, pun intended!) Ha!

The pillow I made was easy.  All I used was three crochet flowers, some buttons and scrap material.  I tried to sew the flowers on the pillow with my sewing machine, but I didn’t like the look of the stitches showing.  So I hand sewed them on.  Buttons were used for the flower center.  The petals were cut with a wavy rotary cutter free hand (no pattern).  I did sew the bottom of the flowers to the pillow and used a dab of fabric glue on the tip of the leaf.  (Prevents your leaves from flapping around.)  The pillow has an envelope back.

Big flower pattern from http://pinterest.com/pin/237920111/
Small flower pattern from http://pinterest.com/pin/316579114/

Fold the leaf in half and sew half way up from the bottom close to the fold

Envelope pillow back… no need for zippers!

Wavy blade rotary cutter

5 responses »

  1. these are just lovely!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Sitting, waiting and crochet « New Buzz from the Bagg Lady

  3. Your talents are never ending!!

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

