RSS Feed

Handmade Christmas Gift #1

Posted on

Here is my first homemade, handmade Christmas gift idea.  Tile and scrapbook paper coasters.  I saw some on Pinterest and decided to give it a try.

I picked up some tiles at Habitat Restore for $ .10 each.  Scrapbook paper, glue and polyacrylic I already had left over from last year’s doll house adventure.  I invited my BFF and her kids over for a sleep over last weekend.  (My hubby was in Nova Scotia with his parents.)  I declared it our first Crafty Slumber Party. : )

The coasters were easy and fun to make.  In fact it was so much fun that we dragged the kids off to Home Depot with us at 8:30 at night to pick up more tile!  Home Depot sold the tiles for $ .16 each… still a bargain!  I would have photographed the whole event but Hubby had the camera with him.  The process was simple.  We cut the scrapbook paper in 4 x 4 inch squares.  Used hodgepodge (glue and water mix) to secure the paper on the tiles and then put a couple of coats on top of the paper.  The next day we put several coats of polyacrylic over the surface to make it waterproof.  We used cork lining cut in 4 x 4 squares for the bottom of the tile, but you can use felt as well.  Between the two of us we made 72 tiles that night.  They turned out so pretty!  And it was so inexpensive.  Tie a set of four coasters up with a pretty bow… Love it!

Teacher gift? Hostess gift? Holiday party gift?

I love comments! It makes my day.

