RSS Feed

Block Painted Wall again

Posted on

Remember my favorite quote off to the side…“Creativity is inventing, experimenting, growing, taking risks, breaking rules, making mistakes, and having fun.” ???  Blah Blah Blah Blah!  WHATEVER!  Ha!  (just kidding)  All I can say is that making mistakes is not alway fun.

I’m redoing my daughter’s room.  I had it all figured out.  It was daughter approved.  She wanted blocks painted on her wall in random patterns, similar to her brother’s room.  After taping off the wall, we painted it.  But before that, I painted the whole wall white.  Since only two-inch lines of white would be showing, I chose to go with cheap white paint.  BIG MISTAKE!  After my daughter and I painted the wall in three different colors, we let it dry before removing the painters tape.  I don’t know if it was the cheap white under coat or if I waited too long to remove the tape, but the result was ugly! : (

My little mini me!

The HORROR! This happened everywhere!

Now the wall needs to be sanded from top to bottom and primed before moving on.  After seeing what the blocks looked like in her room, we both decided that we didn’t really care for it.  It was cool, but not the look we wanted.  I had to step away from the project for a bit.  All that work… and to have it turn out bad is just a little frustrating.  If you want to try this yourself, my advice to you would be DON’T SKIMP ON PAINT.  BUY THE GOOD STUFF, IT’S WORTH IT.

Back to the drawing board.  I know the next attempt will turn out awesome.  I’m thinking positive that when I start her room again, there will be oodles of “having fun”! : )

One response »

  1. I love your blog:-) It awesome!!!

    Reply

I love comments! It makes my day.

