RSS Feed

Turning a Dining Room into a Home Office

Posted on

 

Dining rooms.  Really?  I wish I could say we have elegant gatherings around a beautiful dining table serving five course meals to friends and family.  Nah, I really don’t mean that.  We are not a fussy group here and family gatherings mean hanging out in the kitchen, snacking of appetizers.  “Formal” rooms aren’t my thing.  Dining rooms, I believe, are becoming a thing of the past.  But every home I’ve owned has come with a dining room, and that poor room just stays empty.  I never felt the need to buy a dining set just to fill the space.  So my dining room is just a walk through room.  We walk through it to get to other parts of the house.  And if a dining room set was sitting in the middle of the room, it would still be a walk through room, except we would have to walk around the table to walk through the room!

Unfortunately, like a lot of “traditional” homes, the dining room is the first room you see then you come in the front door.  I’ve tried to make it look like a useful room, but have failed miserably.  It’s a room with a hodge podge of unused furniture I don’t know what to do with.  So after fifteen years of an empty room, I really, really want to make it not a wasted space.  I’m thinking home office/library.  As a family of multiple computers, we would use an office much more than a dining room.  And maybe my kitchen wouldn’t be a dumping ground for bills and papers if they had a home to go to.  I have scoured the internet for some inspiration.  Here are some pictures I have come up with.

Better Homes and Gardens

House Beautiful

HGTV

HGTV

HGTV

 

I love comments! It makes my day.

